|  |  |  |  |  | 

Exclusive India National News Top Headlines

New congress working commitee formed

New Delhi, March 4 (): Maharashtra Chief Minister Prithvi Raj Chavan, Law Minister Veerappa Moily, and Vilasrao Deshmukh who served as chief minister of Maharashtra, but was removed for his links to the Adarsh Society scam, were dropped from the Congress working committee(CWC)  . Arjun Singh was today dropped from the party’s highest policy making body Congress Working Committeee  and was made a Permanent Invitee.

Singh (81), who was admitted to AIIMS some days ago with chest pain and neuro problems, complained of breathing problem around 1730 hours. He suffered a heart attack and breathed his last around 1815 hours, sources said.

P Chidambaram has been selected as permanent invitee to Congress Working Committee. Mohsina Kidwai, who was member in the previous Congress Working Committee, have been made permanent invitee. Oscar Fernandes is among the new entrants. Motilal Vohra remains party treasurer, Ahmed Patel is chief political secretary.

Rahul Gandhi is in-charge of the Youth Congress . The Congress president and also Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, as Convention Peoples Party (CPP) leaders, are automatically members of the CWC and Sonia Gandhi had  to nominate as many as 23 members.

In the AICC meeting itself, Gandhi had given indications to this effect.

“Nominating CWC is a very difficult job. Somebody will complain to say I was left out, why others have been made. Somewhere someone will be left out. Now when you have shown trust in me, some of you should be prepared to bear the loss,” Gandhi had said.

The 1,000-odd members of the AICC constitute the Electoral College for the CWC polls. Of the entire CWC, there is a provision for election of 12 and nomination of 11. The Congress president as well as the parliamentary leader of the party is always members of the CWC with the party chief heading the key body.

There has been no contest for the CWC since Gandhi took over the reins of the organisation in April 1998.