|  |  |  | 

Exclusive News Regional

Need for Entrepreneurship by Women highlighted in SAARC council

Chennai, Dec 1 (): The empowerment of women as entrepreneurs is a key to push India in to a developed nation and this entrepreneurship skills could be inculcated through Policies and Programs by the government, said Mr. Annisul Hug, President of SAARC Chamber of Commerce & Industry.

Mr. Hug delivered the inaugural address at the third day of the SAARC Chamber Women Entrepreneur Council (SCWEC) Global Business Meet and Exhibition, where he voiced his opinion on giving opportunities to the entrepreneurs in South East Asian countries.

The South-East Asian countries covers one fourth of the world population, in which only six per cent of them run their own businesses. He also stated that, Women who have the power to lead, do not have the support to practically continue it.

The hurdles for women in raising their own business are due to no proper financial back up, skill and infrastructural developments for which networking should be encouraged and SME’s should be promoted.

The U.S. Consul General Mr. Andrew T. Simkim spoke on the changes that US diplomatic services faced after 1920 when women were first allowed to join the sector.

Ms. Vinita Singhania, managing director, J.K. Lakshmi Cement, said that entrepreneurship is a medium for financial independence and improves a country’s Gross Development Progress.

Mr. Krishna Murthy Ella,chairman and managing director of Bharat Biotech International Ltd., said that entrepreneurship and innovation should be encouraged for the betterment of the country.

Iqbal Tabish, Secretary General of SAARC Chamber of Commerce and Industry, said that in order to develop a country, women should be promoted, for she is the key license to growth.

Ms. V.L. Indira Dutt, Chairperson of SCWEC, said, the three-day meet was an opportunity for members of different countries to network and exchange their point of views.

12 women had been presented with the SCWEC Women Entrepreneur Excellence Award from the SAARC countries.