|  |  |  | 

Exclusive News Sports

Sachin Tendulkar, Virendra Sehwag nominated for ‘Cricketer of the Generation’ award

New Delhi, Feb 18 (): Indian batting legend Sachin Tendulkar and Virendra Sehwag will be among the contenders for the ‘[email protected] Cricketer of the Generation’ award.

For its seventh annual award, the cricket news website has announced two more categories. The two new special awards — Cricketer of the Generation and Contribution to Cricket — will add to the six categories announced earlier.

Besides Tendulkar and Sehwag, Muttiah Muralitharan of Sri Lanka, West Indian Brian Lara, South African Jacques Kallis and Australia’s Shane Warne will also be in the fight.

The finest player of the last 20 years will be picked by a 50-member jury of current and former cricketers and leading sportswriters and will be honoured with this award. The winner will also be presented with a Renault automobile.

The nominees for the annual ESPNcricinfo Awards were announced last month by the website. The awards, sponsored by Renault, recognise the best cricket performances in 2013.

Former Indian captain Rahul Dravid will nominate the winner of the ‘Contribution to Cricket’ award. This award will consider contributions from all over the cricket ecosystem, from grounds men to pitch curators, umpires to grassroots organisers, or just about anyone who has made a positive impact on the game.

Dravid said the Contribution to Cricket award was considered to reward values that are essential to the sport —commitment, fair play, selflessness, hard work and a dedication to the game. These are qualities personified by many people across many aspects of the sport who are rarely given credit for the amount they contribute to this great game.

Sambit Bal, editor-in-chief, ESPNcricinfo, when speaking on the new categories, said that the Cricketer of the Generation is a one-time award coinciding with the 20th anniversary of ESPNcricinfo, and with the Contribution to Cricket award, we aim to expand our horizon beyond the playing field.

The gala awards event is scheduled on March 14 in Mumbai. Cricketers and industry leaders from around the world will attend the gala awards event on that day.




Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Name *

Email *