|  |  |  | 

Entertainment Exclusive News

MS Dhoni completes 8,000 runs in ODI cricket

Wellington, Jan 31 (): Skipper of the Indian team Mahendra Singh Dhoni completed 8000 runs in One-day International cricket on Friday. He has become the 7th Indian to reach the landmark, after Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly, Rahul Dravid, Mohammad Azharuddin, Yuvraj Singh and Virender Sehwag.

MS Dhoni has achieved this feat in 214 innings. Other players took more innings to reach this landmark, Sourav Ganguly in 200 innings, Sachin Tendulkar in 210 innings and Brian Lara in 211 innings. The Indian skipper is the 4th fastest to get 8000 runs in ODI history. The 3 men who scored 8,000 runs in quicker time – Ganguly, Tendulkar and Brian Lara  were all top-order batsman and so the achievement of Dhoni is even more special.

Dhoni made this great accomplishment in the final ODI against New Zealand in Wellington on Friday. With an unbeaten knock of 79 runs in the fourth ODI at Auckland, Dhoni had reached 7,999 runs and needed just one more to achieve the landmark in the final ODI.

Dhoni has beaten the records of Saeed Anwar (218 innings), Desmond Haynes (219 innings), Ricky Ponting (220 innings) and Chris Gayle (221 innings) to name a few.

Dhoni is also the only batsman who has got to the achievement with an average of over 50. He will certainly go down as one of the greatest players to ever play limited overs cricket.

Present tour to New Zealand is not very few positives for India so far, but Dhoni has had a remarkable run with the bat in this series, slashing three back-to-back fifties in the second, third and fourth ODIs.

Before the series started, Dhoni had spoken about improving his form with the bat in Tests. The two-match Test series starts in Auckland on February 6.

Virat Kohli is the next batsman after Dhoni in the all-time list of the leading run-scorers in ODIs for India.

Batsmen M R Ave 100s 50s
Sachin Tendulkar 463 18,426 44.83 49 96
Sourav Ganguly 311 11,363 41.02 22 72
Rahul Dravid 344 10,889 39.16 12 83
Mohammad Azharuddin 334 9,378 36.92 7 58
Yuvraj Singh 293 8,329 36.37 13 51
Virender Sehwag 251 8,273 35.05 15 38
* MS Dhoni 243 8,000 53.32 9 54

* Updated after MS Dhoni reached 8,000 runs.




Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Name *

Email *